Darned Response

Can we, as a society, at last get behind something that will no doubt piss off the manners mavens but will let the rest of us regular jamokes off the proverbial hook for something we shouldn’t have been on the hook for in the first place?

When it comes to an invitation with an RSVP, I shouldn’t have to respond if I’m not attending. I’ll respond only if I’m enhancing your little soiree with my presence, so if you don’t hear from me consider me a ghost!

I mean, the way I see it – your invitation to me shouldn’t include homework. That’s like saying, “Hey, I’d like to buy you dinner. But you’ll have to cook it.” If you want to do me a favor and include me in your birthday bash or impending nuptials, don’t make me jump through hoops in the process. I’ll be a mensch and let you know that you need to order another vegetarian entree or stock up on diet soda if I’m planning on being there, however my silence should be taken not as the type of social slight that would make Emily Post frown but rather my eschewal of the invitational festivities – no affront intended or perceived.

So the next time someone tells you to répondez s’il vous plaît, tell them you will. But only if the answer is Oui.

Tags: , , , ,


