Bananadrama

I was watching old episodes of The Banana Splits on Boomerang late last night and it suddenly occurred to me that, if you can overlook the catchy music and the psychedelic videos and the egregious slapstick, Fleegle, Bingo, Drooper and Snorky are basically a gang. I mean, look at the facts: they hang out in a clubhouse or hideout, they have a known rivalry with another gang (the Sour Grapes Bunch) and they wear colors (okay, technically, they wear colorful Sid & Marty Krofft designed costumes, but I’m stretching an analogy here). And what do bananas come in? A bunch. And what’s another name for a bunch? A gang! Let’s face it: venerable children’s icons or not, these guys are just one drive-by away from being rounded up under the RICO act! And I’m not suggesting that the rise of gang-related violence and activity in the 70s and 80s was directly attributable to a generation of kids growing up watching The Banana Splits but it does somehow begin to make sense, doesn’t it?

Alls I’m saying is it doesn’t help their case that in order to join their group’s fan club back in the late 60s, you had to bust a cap in the Hanna-Barbera character of your choice. (I chose Lippy the Lion, BTW, so you can thank my 6-year-old self that leonine loser was a veritable no-show in the Laff-A-Lympics a few years later.)

