Politically Ineffect

I was rummaging through a bunch of old VHS tapes the other day – tossing the unwanted (did I really need to tape the first five seasons of Pokemon?) and saving the cream (Sifyl & Ollie Show! Rock!) – and I happened upon an old edition of Bill Maher’s Politically Incorrect. I popped the video into my VCR to see exactly what the discussion topic was and who the guests were. As I remember, Bill’s guests were usually culled from an A-list of experts, dignitaires, pundits and the like – a motley crew assembled to bring to light complex issues of the day in a fashion only their unique skill set and knowledge could.

So, the guests for this particular episode?  A well-respected political cartoonist, an honored leader of an African-American action group, an Egyptian-born cinema devotee … and former MTV VJ Kennedy.

What the bloody hell? Kennedy?! Really? What, was Carrot Top too busy that day? Was Skippy from Family Ties unable to get someone to cover his shift at Foot Locker?

“One of these things is not like the other. One of these things just doesn’t belong …”

