The Devil You Know

In the Charlie Daniels Band song The Devil Went Down To Georgia, I always thought that the Devil was the real winner of the fiddle contest.  I mean, he plays this funky tune.  A band of demons even joined in!  It totally rocked.  All Johnny did was play a dumb fiddle. Even if Johnny did legitimately beat Satan, why the hell was the freakin’ Devil gonna play fair? “Well, Devil, ” I think I beat you fair and square.” “Says who, Johnny? I think I won.” “But from a technically musical standpoint …” “Shut up, you redneck yokel! You think I care for the rules? I make the damn rules. Now gimme your soul, you ignorant hillbilly.”

Stupid song. Especially when they played the edited version on Top 40 radio.  “I told you once you son of a gun …”  No.  I don’t think so.  Why change the integrity of your artistic vision just because Casey Kasem doesn’t want to hear the word bitch on his precious little countdown?

Just what the hell IS Charlie Daniel’s problem anyway?

